

Bruce-Grey Catholic District School Board Press Release ~ for Immediate Release ~ May 4, 2020

Hanover – The Bruce-Grey Catholic District School Board celebrates its annual "Applause Breakfast Awards" event as part of our Catholic Education Week celebrations.

The ultimate success of our educational system is dependent upon students, parents, staff and our community partners.

We believe that it is important to recognize those students whose presence and actions are foundational to our success...who are willing to let their light shine before others!

The "Applause Breakfast Awards" Program honours selected students and their parents for their ongoing contributions to their respective school communities.

Each year, two students from each school are nominated by the staff. Traditionally, this celebration is an opportunity to gather for breakfast on the Monday of Catholic Education Week. The students are then recognized before their parents, principals, staff members and administration, for exemplifying the Virtues and through their actions, contributing to the

Catholic Culture of Deep Caring that we are so proud of in our schools.

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic, we were unable to gather together for our traditional breakfast celebration, but felt it was important to recognize the valuable contributions that each of our recipients makes to their school communities. This year we created a 'virtual celebration' to recognize these students. You can view this tribute on our <u>Catholic Education Week website</u>, or by clicking on the image to the right.



The following students were recognized with a certificate and an award:

Mary Immaculate, Chepstow

Ella Elphick Hannah Muir St. Peter & St. Paul's, Durham Mackenzie Black Seth Linger-Schwass École Immaculée Conception, Formosa

Hayden Oberle Marlee Stroeder

Holy Family, Hanover Carter Witter

Hailey Garvey

St. Anthony's, Kincardine

Emma Thompson Eden Babbitt

Sacred Heart, Mildmay

Mitchell Metcalfe JoAnna Lorentz

St. Basil's, Owen Sound

Joselyn Crone Joshua Davenport

Notre Dame School, Owen Sound

Claire Torrie Rya Fitzsimmons

St. Joseph's, Port Elgin

Charlie Kempers Maeve Evans

Sacred Heart, Teeswater Eric Hogg Bella Simon

St. Teresa of Calcutta, Walkerton Ashley Kestner Micayla Dales

St. Mary's High School, Owen Sound Will Kazarian-Hodder Katherine Catto

Sacred Heart High School, Walkerton Cara Zettler Rhys Tiffin

~ Let Your Light Shine ~